Florida Drunk Driving Arrest?
An arrest for driving under the influence (DUI, sometimes called DWI) can result in serious criminal penalties, driver’s license suspension and significant collateral consequences. In some cases, it can affect your occupation or future career opportunities. It is important to consult with an experienced DUI defense lawyer to understand your rights and options when facing misdemeanor or felony drunk driving charges.
At the Leininger Law Firm, P.A., we provide aggressive, experienced and relentless defense to individuals facing drunk driving charges in Shalimar, Fort Walton Beach and surrounding areas. Attorney Michael R. Leininger has the experience and determination clients need when facing criminal charges in Florida. Contact our law firm to arrange a meeting with an experienced Shalimar DUI defense lawyer.
10 Days to Respond — Or Lose Your License!
Florida is a tough DUI state. The legal blood alcohol limit is .08 percent. If you were arrested for a DUI for the first time and fail the breath test, or if you refuse a blood, breath or urine test, your driver’s license is automatically suspended by DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles).
You have 10 days to request a Formal Review Hearing with the DHSMV to contest your Administrative Driver’s License Suspension. The clock starts ticking when you are arrested, so it is important to immediately consult with a DUI defense lawyer to discuss these issues. With extensive criminal defense experience, Attorney Michael Leininger knows how to effectively represent the interests of clients at administrative hearings and fight to protect their driving privileges.
We Fight Harsh Florida DUI Penalties
In Florida, DUI penalties increase significantly with each repeat DUI offense. However, an individual can also face increased penalties for having a high BAC (over .15 percent BAC) or for driving under the influence when there is a minor in the vehicle. Without a strategic defense, even a first-offense DUI can result in severe penalties such as:
- Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- Mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service
- Driver’s license suspension
Our law firm effectively represents the rights of individuals facing first-offense DUI charges, repeat-offense DUI, underage DUI, DUI involving an accident and other DUI charges. We thoroughly investigate the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Depending on the facts of your case, we may challenge the officer’s reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the administration of field sobriety tests, the probable cause for the arrest, the Breathalyzer calibration and other aspects of the case. This minimizes the evidence that can be used against you and strengthens arguments for a reduced charge or dismissed case.
Meet With a Fort Walton Beach Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer
If you are facing a DUI/DWI arrest, talk to an experienced drunk driving defense lawyer immediately to ensure your rights are protected. If you are facing charges in Shalimar-Fort Walton Beach or the surrounding area, please call 850-502-4982 or send us an e-mail to arrange for a meeting. We aggressively assert the interests of individuals, families, and service men and women throughout the Florida Panhandle.